GADSDEN DUI DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE LAWYER
When lawyers, judges and even police officers talk about DUI in Alabama– one firm consistently comes up. Dani Bone & Sam Bone. Since 1996 Dani has singlehandedly set the bar for DUI defense in Alabama. Dani has represented white collar, blue collar and no collar workers all with one goal in mind – victory. With a member of Dani V. Bone & Sam D. Bone, Attorneys at Law in your corner – no DUI case is indefensible, and no result is impossible.
At Dani V. Bone & Sam D. Bone, Attorneys At Law, we take pride in defending DUI cases. We defend cases in the throughout the state and have an unmatched reputation for tenacity, knowledge and strength.
We have focused our practice on DUI defense in order to best serve the thousands of Alabama citizens who are arrested for DUI every year. Led by Attorney Dani Bone, our DUI defense team bring together legal minds all focused on one thing – winning your case. Whether using the scientific skills of our team leader Jay, who has more national training in Breath testing, Blood testings, Field Testing and DUI advocacy than any other attorney in the state, the courtroom skills of our founding partner Dani Bone, the negotiation skills of Sam Bone, our goal to achieve a custom defense for you and the best possible in your case.
Who should you hire to do your dui defense?
First, look for attorney's qualifications. The National Trial Lawyers Associations selected Dani Bone as a Top 100 Lawyer in the Country for 2018. The National Trial Lawyers Associations selected Sam Bone as a Top 40 Lawyer Under 40 for 2015.
Next, look at our reviews online for our services and compare them to other attorneys in the area to decide whether we should be your lawyer.
"Should I hire a lawyer if I'm charged with DUI in Alabama?"
Cut through the confusion. Contact Gadsden, AL drunk driving defense lawyers Dani & Sam Bone. We can answer your questions. We can help you navigate the legal system and the applicable laws governing drunk driving in Alabama. We will conduct an independent investigation, analyze your arrest report and all evidence the government intends to use. We research other Alabama drunk driving arrests to build a case designed to get you the result you need. Case results matter here.
"Everyone makes mistakes," attorney Dani Bone often says. "And everyone deserves a second chance."
What do you have to blow to get a DUI in Alabama?
In Alabama, driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI) are considered the same offense, and the terms are used interchangeably. The legal limit of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 percent. Commercial drivers are subject to a .04 percent limit. School bus and daycare drivers and drivers under the age of 21 can face charges for a BAC above .02 percent.
Can you go to jail for DUI in Alabama?
Penalties for DUI offenses include automatic license suspensions, fines, community service and jail time. Your first drunk driving conviction results in an automatic 90-day license suspension and up to one year in jail, a fine of $600 to $1,200, or both. Second offenses come with a one-year license suspension, a mandatory five days in jail with up to one year possible, a minimum of 30 days of community service and a possible fine of $1,100 to $5,100. Repeat DUI offenders can face felony charges resulting in thousands of dollars in fines and several years in prison.
How can an Alabama DUI attorney help me if I'm charged with drunk driving?
Time is of the essence if you have been arrested for DUI. You only have 10 days after your DUI arrest to request an administrative hearing. Otherwise, you could lose your driver's license. Keep in mind it's 10 calendar days, not business days! Don't wait until it's too late. Contact attorneys Dani & Sam Bone today. You have rights. We will fight for them! Call 256-547-1005 right now or fill out our online form at the bottom of this page and schedule a free consultation. Located in Gadsden, AL and serving clients throughout Alabama, Dani V. Bone & Sam D. Bone, Attorneys at Law has the knowledge and experience you need to make a fresh start.
SHOULD YOU BLOW IF PULLED OVER ALABAMA DUI?
In the state of Alabama, this question is not so easily answered. On the one hand, refusing to blow makes your attorney's job a bit easier when it comes to trial because the state (or city) will have no indisputable evidence that your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was above the legal limit at the time you were pulled over. But, on the other hand, thanks to Alabama Code Section 32-5-192, refusing to blow will get you
1. an automatic 90 day suspension of your license;
2. can make it more difficult for your attorney to negotiate with the prosecutor before trial; and,
3. can get you double the minimum days of suspension and an interlock device (device installed on a car's dashboard that tests the driver's BAC level and can prevent the engine from being started if the BAC level is above the limit set on the device) if convicted of a DUI after a refusal to blow.
4. If you refuse to blow, the officer will confiscate your license and give you a form stating the reason for suspension and how to proceed from there.
5. You will also spend 24 hours in a holding cell. You have 10 days from the date of arrest, if you refuse to blow, to request a “pre-suspension” hearing with the Department of Public Safety. Your attorney can file for a stay of suspension pending the prosecution of the DUI.
DUI DRIVER'S LICENSE SUSPENSION
Most people arrested for an Alabama DUI have their driver’s licenses taken from them by the police. If your driver’s license was taken from you, then you ONLY HAVE TEN (10) DAYS to request a hearing to try to stop the suspension of your Alabama driver’s license.
If you refused to take the breath test after you were arrested (or the police officer claims you refused to take it) or if you submitted to a test that yielded results of .08% or more, then your Alabama Driver License may automatically be taken and will be subject to suspension (or revocation) for ninety (90) days to five (5) years.
This automatic driver’s license suspension case is separate from your DUI case. You CANNOT put off dealing with your driver’s license suspension case until your DUI case goes to court.
Because you only have ten (10) days to request a hearing to protect your driver’s license, it is very important that you contact an Alabama DUI defense attorney as soon as possible after you are arrested for DUI.
You need to take your DUI offense seriously right from the start. Don't take chances with your future or your ability to drive. Contact us right now. We treat every client with respect and work hard every day to deliver favorable results. Contact the DUI litigators Dani V. Bone & Sam D. Bone at to discuss your case at (256) 547-1005.